When searching for historical topics, entering the specific topic itself as a search term in the library catalogue may not always return results, but don't be discouraged because there are many other ways and places you can look. With this in mind, this page offers useful strategies as you navigate library and database searches for resources on your chosen HF 231 or 232 historical research topic.
This video created by Northeastern Illinois University Library describes the difference between using Google and the library for your research. We hope you'll choose the library!
Here are some strategies for searching the library databases for your topic:
1. Follow subject suggestions. When you initially enter a term in the database search bar it will likely show you other suggested search terms. It is sometimes useful to try those suggestions, as they indicate what others have tried before and perhaps found useful. For example, when I start entering Napoleon in the search bar of Academic Search Complete it suggests Napoleon Bonaparte or Napoleon Bonaparte French Revolution.
2. Choose Full Text and Peer Reviewed limiters. This way you will not have articles come up that you cannot access and you will also know that Dr. Enns will consider the source credible. For example, when I search Napoleon Bonaparte over 1700 results come up. When I click Full Text this is reduced to 660 and when I click Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals, then the results are reduced to 180. It just makes sense to use these limiters right away to avoid the frustration of finding articles that look great, but you can't read or that are not considered academic.
3. Follow the subject Trail. Similar to resource records in the library catalogue, database articles and resources also list subjects. When you click on these subjects it returns a list of results that also have that subject. For example, when I click into a record on Napoleon Bonaparte, I find the subject heading NAPOLEON I, Emperor of the French, 1769-1821. When I click on this subject, the official subject recognized by the database, then I find all of the articles that include this subject in their description. TIP: When you follow the subject you will probably have to click the Full Text and Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals limiters again.
Although we do not generally recommend Google in your search for scholarly resources, there are times it can be useful. For example, one can find access to primary sources or open access scholarly articles. But how do you know if you have found a good credible source? The following video by the University of Manitoba Libraries helps.
Here are some strategies for searching the library catalogue for your topic:
1. Start with a basic search using the default drop-downs "All Collections" and "All Fields." Then depending on what you are looking for, use the limiters on the left to narrow your search by format (i.e. Book or eBook), publication date etc. Here is an example of a book that comes up when I search the simple term Einstein and narrow my search by the format Book. Tip: If your search is not successful, then double check the spelling. Although the catalogue can correct some spelling errors, it will not catch all of them.
2. Broaden your search to a geographical location, time period, or larger theme that is relevant to your topic. This is especially useful if a search for your specific topic returns limited or no results. For example, if researching Prince Henry the Navigator you may want to try the search term explorers or Portugal. Here is a book that comes up with a search for explorers. Tip: Doing some research ahead of time in general Western Civilization texts (as outlined on the home page) will give you a better idea of additional/broader terms relevant to your topic.
3. Try adding the term history. This is useful if your search for a broader topic returns too many results and you want to narrow it to materials that are historically focused. For example, if searching a topic connected to Egypt, try Egypt history. Here is a book that comes up with this search. Tip: You can also add ancient to a search for resources on ancient civilizations. For example, Egypt ancient.
4. Follow the subject trail. Use this strategy once you find a book in the catalogue that seems useful. For example, the search term sputnik returns two search results. You'll notice that only one is relevant, but when you click on the item record it has several subjects listed. When you hover over those subjects you will notice they are links. And when you click on them they lead you to other resources with the same subjects. In the sputnik record, when I follow the subject world politics -- 1945-1989, it brings me to a list of records with that and similar subject. I can then click on each item to see if it is helpful.
Here are some strategies for using found resources to discover more:
1. Look through the Index and the Table of Contents. This is especially important when you find books that explore a broader topic or theme connected to your research topic. For example, if you are researching Ferdinand Magellan and you have found resources on explorers, you will want to search the index or Table of Contents for Magellan (or other relevant terms) to see if the resource if useful to you.
2. Search the shelf around the book you have found. Because the book's address (or Dewey classification number) reflects a certain topic, often browsing for other books in the same location will help you find more. Tip: Although you will likely find books with the same topic in the same section, there may still be books in other sections that are relevant to your topic, so don't forget to look for other books in different sections by going back to the library catalogue and using some of the search strategies above.
3. Look through the bibliography of the book or article you have found. This will give you ideas of other books or articles to search for. If you find one that seems particularly useful and we do not have it in our physical collection or in the databases, then consider requesting it via interlibrary loan.
If you cannot find what you need at our library, we maybe able to order books and articles for you from other libraries via interlibrary loan. If you want to explore this option you will need to give us plenty of notice as these loans generally take at least a week to arrive. With this service we can access library materials on your behalf from other TAL libraries such as the the University of Calgary, or the University of Alberta. Talk to one of the librarians about this possibility and will do our best to try and access materials for you.
Even though we have created this guide to empower you as you embark on your research for HF 231 and 232, we still love helping. So if you are uncertain or just don't know where to start. Or you can't find a book or have tried some of these strategies and are still coming up dry, then please ask a librarian. We want to connect you with resources. It's what we were made to do and it's the best part of our day!