LibGuides: Women and the Church: Additional Resources

Ebsco eBooks

Ebsco Ebook Collection
This eBook collection contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter.
This collection includes both subscription and library owned titles.

Here are a few examples of titles found in the Ebsco eBook collection

Women in the Bible: Resources for the use of scripture within the church
Dark Age nunneries: The ambiguous identity of female monasticism, 800-1050
Empowered without power: Women and leadership in the Basel Mission and Presbyterian church in Cameroon

Perlego eBooks

Perlego
Perlego is a digital online library focusing on the delivery of academic, professional and non-fiction eBooks. This is only accessed via your Prairie linked account. Please contact library for details.

Here are a few resources found on Perlego

Open Web -- To Watch

#MeToo and the Church: Egalitarian vs Complementarian • Natalie Collins & Phil Moore
Unpacking both perspectives with a respectful tone, this discussion between Natalie Collins and Phil Moore, asks the question, "Does the church need a #MeToo moment? Does egalitarian and complementarian theology help or harm men and women in the church?"
Beth Allison Barr & Rachel Green Miller: Egalitarian & Complementarian views on Biblical Womanhood
Beth Allison Barr, author of ‘The Making of Biblical Womanhood: How the subjugation of women became Gospel truth’ takes an egalitarian view of scripture. Rachel Green Miller, author of ‘Beyond Authority and Submission: Women and Men in Marriage, Church, and Society’ takes a complementarian perspective. They explore the common ground as well as differences.
Paul, Gender, and the Women in Leadership Debate: Dr. Cynthia Long Westfall
Preston Sprinkle speaks with Dr. Cynthia Long Westfall. She is Associate Professor of New Testament at McMaster Divinity College and the author of the book Paul and Gender, which has been hailed as one of, if not the, best biblical defenses of the egalitarian view of women in leadership. In this podcast conversation they talk about what led Cynthia to write the book, and work through a few key passages, such as Ephesians 5:21-33, 1 Corinthians 11:2-16, and 1 Timothy 2-3.
What You Should Know About Biblical Complementarianism
A podcast/video produced by the Gospel Coalition. Here Kevin DeYoung, Ligon Duncan, Melissa Kruger, and Nancy Guthrie discuss what it means to have a healthy, biblical view of complementarianism.
Why Is The Gospel Coalition Complementarian?
Here Don Carson, Tim Keller, and John Piper discuss why The Gospel Coalition is complementarian.
Why women should be church leaders and preachers
Bible scholar N.T. Wright answers a listener's question on whether the Bible allows women to teach in churches, including the passage from 1 Timothy 2 v 11-12 “A woman should learn in quietness and full submission. I do not permit a woman to teach or to assume authority over a man; she must be quiet.”

Databases

Atla Religion Database with Atla Serials PLUS
Atla Religion Database® (Atla RDB®) with AtlaSerials® (Atlas®) combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with Atla’s full text collection of 360+ major religion and theology journals.
This database is produced by Atla, a membership association of collectors and connectors in religion and theology.

Here are a few examples of articles found within the Atla database.

Periodicals

Mutuality
Mutuality offers articles from diverse writers who share egalitarian theology and explore its intersection with everyday life.

more... less...

This is an open access link. Current and back issues are available at the library.
Priscilla Papers
Priscilla Papers is the academic voice of CBE International, providing peer reviewed, interdisciplinary, evangelical scholarship on topics related to a biblical view of gender equality and justice in the home, church, and world.

more... less...

This is an open access link. Current and back issues are available at the library.