Open Access Resources: Bible & Theology

A list of OT and NT background websites, books, and resources from around the internet.

A 63-page list of religiously-related resources organized by topic, with links and descriptions.

Database; eBooks
The Christian Classics Ethereal Library is a digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books selected for edification and education. The online www.ccel.org server reaches several million different users each year.

Journal (peer-reviewed)
Journal for the Study of the New Testament is one of the leading peer-reviewed academic journals in New Testament Studies. All the many and diverse aspects of New Testament study are represented and promoted by JSNT, including innovative work from historical perspectives, studies using social-scientific and literary theory or developing theological, cultural and contextual approaches.

Journal (peer-reviewed)
Journal for the Study of the Old Testament offers the best in current, peer-reviewed scholarship on the Old Testament across a range of critical methodologies.

Journal (peer-reviewed)
The Journal of Hebrew Scriptures (JHS) is an internationally peer-reviewed, open-access journal established in 1996, to foster scholarly research on the Hebrew Bible, ancient Israel’s history, and cognate fields of study.

Summary/overview videos
A series of visual depictions and summarised content from the Christian Bible.

Book reviews; Use to find potential sources
SBL Central is a research platform to support participants in the entire interdisciplinary ecosystem of biblical, religious, and theological studies, including scholars, students, publishers, publishing associations, and libraries and their institutions.

Journal (peer-reviewed)
TC publishes full-length scholarly articles, shorter notes, project reports, and reviews of works in the field of biblical textual criticism.

Database; eBooks
The Post-Reformation Digital Library (PRDL) is a select database of digital books relating to the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era (late 15th-18th c.). Late medieval and patristic works printed and referenced in the early modern era are also included.

Database; eBooks and articles
Biblical Studies on the Web's purpose is to "make high quality theological material freely available throughout the world, thus providing Bible teachers and pastors with the resources they need to spread the Gospel in their countries."

Our mission is to celebrate God’s Word by preserving and gifting beautiful Torah scrolls to schools that prepare Bible teachers for the future. Once loved and studied in Jewish synagogues or homes, these pasul (no longer kosher) manuscripts are now cherished, studied, and shared by academic institutions with people around the world. In their new homes, these precious scrolls continue to touch lives and hearts. For years to come they will stand as testaments to God’s eternal Word.

Early Christian writings including Church Fathers, New Testament, and other Church sources.

Journal (peer-reviewed)
The purpose of APTS Press and the Asian Journal of Pentecostal Studies is to encourage serious theological thinking and articulation by Pentecostals/Charismatics and dialogue with other Christian traditions in Asia to stimulate creative contextualization of the Christian faith; and to provide a means for Pentecostals/Charismatics to share their theological reflection.

Journal (peer-reviewed)
Open Theology is an international Open Access, peer-reviewed academic journal that welcomes contributions written in English addressing religion in its various forms and aspects: historical, theological, sociological, psychological, and other. The journal encompasses all major disciplines of Theology and Religious Studies, presenting doctrine, history, organization and everyday life of various types of religious groups and the relations between them

Journal
The McMaster Journal of Theology and Ministry (MJTM) is an electronic and print journal that seeks to provide pastors, educators, and interested lay persons with the fruits of theological, biblical, and professional studies in an accessible form.

Journal
Word & World is a quarterly journal of theology whose readers are concerned with Christian ministry in and for the world. A glance at our articles and our issue themes will show how we propose to bring Christian thinking to the questions posed by life in our world today.

Journal
The Global Journal of Classical Theology is dedicated to excellence in scholarship and review of issues in both Classical and Contemporary Evangelical Theology.

Journal
The Master's Seminary Journal is a publication of the faculty of The Master's Seminary. It is published semi-annually and contains articles dealing with the Biblical text, theology, and issues related to pastoral ministry. It also contains reviews of current books and significant articles relating to these issues.

Database
This site, the Bible and Interpretation, is designed to appeal to a significant public and scholarly audience who are interested in the most current news and interpretations on the Bible and ancient Near East history.

Database; eBooks, articles, photos
The Theological Commons is a digital library of over 150,000 resources on theology and religion. Developed in partnership with the Internet Archive it contains books, journals, audio recordings, photographs, manuscripts, and other formats dating from 975 C.E. to the present.

Database; eBooks and articles
Theological Studies on the Web's purpose is to "make high quality theological material freely available throughout the world, thus providing Bible teachers and pastors with the resources they need to spread the Gospel in their countries."

Database; eBooks and articles
Reformation Studies on the Web's purpose is to "make high quality theological material freely available throughout the world, thus providing Bible teachers and pastors with the resources they need to spread the Gospel in their countries."

Articles and Commentaries
The Theology of Work Project (TOW) is the deepest, largest, and most trusted source of biblical, theological, and pastoral material related to work.