LibGuides: Student Success: Links & Resources

Links and Resources

Find here some useful links and resources we have come across or that have been recommended to us. Resources include options such as text-to-speech technology, speech-to-text, organizers/planners, books, study aids etc. We recognize that these resources only skim the surface of what is available, as well as what may prove useful to students with specific learning needs and/or disabilities. Therefore, if you know of something we should add to this page that has been useful for you or someone you know, send us a note and we will check it out. There is quite a bit here, so make sure to scroll down the page to access everything.

Useful Tools

Microsoft Edge Read Aloud
Did you know that when you right click in Microsoft Edge there is a Read Aloud option? This works for webpages and for PDF docs that are opened in Microsoft Edge. This means if you come cross an article or eBook in Ebsco that does not have the text to speech option, you can open it in Edge, and then right click to choose the "Read Aloud" option. This also works for Perlego eBooks that may not yet have the read aloud option available. If you need help accessing the Microsoft Edge Read Aloud option, let us know.
Natural Reader
This text-to-speech reader offers a free option as well as a paid version with more bells and whistles. It also has a Chrome extension and an Online Reader where you can copy and paste text into a box and have it read to you.
Perlego Read Aloud
Read Aloud is now available for a majority of books on Perlego. Just look for the read aloud icon 🔊+📖. If you are a Prairie College student registered in a program (hyflex, online, or in person), then you have access to Perlego. Links are sent out at the beginning of the year.
Read & Write for Chrome
This text-to-speech extension makes Google docs, files, and webpages more accessible. There is both a free version and a paid version.
Using Text-to-Speech in Ebsco Databases
Did you know that Ebsco articles allow for a text-to-speech (read aloud) option? The article must be Accessible in a PDF or Online full text format. The Online full text allows for highlighting also. This link explains how to use the Ebsco text-to-speech (read aloud) feature.
Voice Dream
This suite of apps includes Reader, Writer, and Scanner. You can also purchase each on its own. Voice Dream's mission is to "create accessible, speech based software for mobile devices" and it is considered one of the go-to apps for individuals with a print disability. It also bills itself as helpful to those with other unique learning needs -- i.e., individuals with autism or motor function disabilities.

Google Docs
Google Docs offers a speech-to-text (voice typing) option. The short video below shows how it works.

Windows 10
Use dictation in Windows 10 on your PC to have a speech-to-text function. This link shows you how, as well as provides dictation commands.

Distraction Free Mode
Distraction Free mode is a Chrome extension that works in Google Docs and Slides to hide all controls and buttons and lets you focus on writing and creating. It also allows you to choose the best style for you, with options such as dark mode, sepia mode, or the clean gray default background. It also works with Google voice typing.
Reader Mode
Reader Mode is a feature-packed Chrome reading extension and web app that removes clutter, ads and distractions, while also includes dyslexia support, bookmarking, annotating, highlighting, text-to-speech and many other features all in one tool.
Reader View
Reader View is a Chrome extension that strips away clutter like buttons and background images, as well as changes the page's text size, contrast, and layout for better readability. It also offers a text-to-speech option. There are other Chrome extensions that provide a similar simplified screen. The video below shows how to use Reader View as well as its features.

Brili
Brili is an app that provides a way to structure your day so you can get tasks done. Brili may be particularly useful for individuals with ADHD, autism, or depression, but can prove useful for anyone who wants a way to build daily routines. According to the site, it saves time, increases focus and productivity, and reduces stress.
Bullet Journals
This blog post explains why the Bullet Journal may be the best planner for ADHD brains, as does the short video below. This whole series "How to ADHD" is a great resource.

Simple Mind
Some find mind mapping a really useful tool for organizing thoughts, ideas, and even papers. Simple Mind is only one option, but it is available to try for free with limited functions.
10 Mind Mapping Options
This article outlines ten free mind mapping options. We would love to hear if you use mind mapping apps or software and which you find works best!

Pomodoro Technique
Have you heard of the Pomodoro Technique? Todoist describes it like this: "This popular time management method asks you to alternate pomodoros – focused work sessions – with frequent short breaks to promote sustained concentration and stave off mental fatigue." Check out the link to learn more.
Pomodor Timer Apps
A list and review of five Pomodoro timer apps. To see how the Pomodoro technique may benefit you, watch the short video below by "How to ADHD."

Study Bunny App
This simple app provides a timer as well as a "study buddy." Earn coins when you meet your goals. It provides flash cards, a to-do-list, and study tracker.

Ebsco Ebook Collection
This eBook collection is facilitated by our library and contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. You will need to be a current student to access these.

This collection includes both subscription and library owned titles.

Centre for Equitable Library Services
The Centre for Equitable Library Access, CELA, is Canada’s comprehensive accessible reading service, providing books and other materials to Canadians with print disabilities in the formats of their choice. In partnership with libraries, CELA provides access to 1 million professionally produced titles to provide people with print disabilities with a quality library experience. If you have a public library card (as a student a Three Hills Library card is free), you can access CELA.
Internet Archive
The Internet Archive is a digital library that includes, among other formats, digitized books and audio books. Their mission is to provide Universal Access to All Knowledge. To access items, create an account for free.
LibriVox
A collection of books in the public domain read by volunteers around the world. There is a LibriVox app, which makes listening to books easier.
Lit2Go
Lit2Go is a free online collection of stories and poems in Mp3 (audiobook) format. An abstract, citation, playing time, and word count are given for each of the passages. Many of the passages also have a related reading strategy identified, as well as a print version of each passage.
Perlego
This resource provides access to a substantial digital library of Academic and non-academic eBooks, including some of your textbooks. If you are a Prairie College student registered in a program (online, hyflex, or in person), you are provided access to a subscription. Watch for the link sent out at the beginning of the school year.

CommunAbility
CommunAbility is an online community for post-secondary education students with disabilities. We offer connection opportunities that foster community building and social support, mentoring experiences that empower students with disabilities, and resources to educate students on a range of topics.
Dyslexia Canada: Resources for Adults with Dyslexia
Dyslexia Canada’s mission is to ensure that every child in Canada with dyslexia gets a fair and equitable education. However, we regularly have members of our community reach out asking for help in finding resources and strategies for adults with dyslexia. In this blog post, we share information and tools for anyone with dyslexia, no matter their age.
Resources for Students with Disabilities
A site by the Government of Alberta that includes resources and supports for students with disabilities exploring or attending Alberta post-secondary programs.
Transition Resource Guide
Although this guide is set in the context of Ontario, it still offers useful information for students with disabilities transitioning to post-secondary education.