Most of the resources below are available through the library's physical collection, eBook collection, and databases. There are other resources listed as well, such as the University of Alberta's Massive Open Online Course, Indigenous Canada, and curated lists of books by Indigenous authors. To uncover more resources in the library collection or databases, click on subject headings within the item records to connect to others that include that same subject.
The library is working to grow its collection of physical resources exploring Indigenous experience, history, and context, as well as Indigenous-settler relations. Here are some of those titles. If you have suggestions of other titles you think the library should add to its collection, please let us know.
21 Things you May not Know about the Indian Act: Helping Canadians Make Reconciliation with Indigenous Peoples a Reality by 
Colonialism on the Prairies: Blackfoot Settlement and Cultural Transformation, 1870-1920 by 
First Nations in the Twenty-First Century by 
Mixed Blessings: Indigenous Encounters with Christianity in Canada by 
New Histories for Old: Changing Perspectives on Canada's Native Past by 
Night Spirits: the story of the relocation of the Sayisi Dene by 
The North-West Is Our Mother: the story of Louis Riel's people, the Métis Nation by 
Settler: Identity and Colonialism in 21st Century Canada by 
Surviving in the Hour of Darkness: The Health and Wellness of Women of Colour and Indigenous Women by 
Seven Fallen Feathers: Racism, Death, and Hard Truths in a Northern City by 
Unsettling the Settler Within: Indian Residential Schools, Truth Telling, and Reconciliation in Canada by In his book Unreconciled: Family, truth, and Indigenous resistance, Jesse Wente (2021) writes that functional relationship begins with Canada "listen[ing] to the stories Indigenous people have been telling for more than 150 years" (p. 7,8). This guide contains links to some of those stories, but there are many more. Visit the links below for lists of books by Indigenous authors.
Wente, J. (2021). Unreconciled: Family, truth, and Indigenous resistance. Penguin.
Although you can find resources covering Indigenous topics in many of our A-Z databases, here are three suggestions to get you started. Don't forget to limit your search to "full-text."
The library's eBook database collection is full of resources exploring Indigenous history, experience, and context within Canada and beyond. This is only a sampling. The titles listed below are primarily published by University presses, such as the University of Manitoba, British Columbia, and McGill-Queens.
Aboriginal Peoples in Canadian Cities: Transformations and Continuities by 
From Treaties to Reserves: The Federal Government and Native Peoples in Territorial Alberta, 1870-1924 by 
Indigenous Writes: A Guide to First Nations, Métis, & Inuit Issues in Canada by 
Indigenous Women, Work, and History: 1940-1980 by 
A National Crime: The Canadian Government and the Residential School System by 
Keeping Promises The Royal Proclamation of 1763, Aboriginal Rights, and Treaties in Canada by 