Click on the tabs below for information on searching the library catalogue, databases, and Google, along with how to use other strategies such as Boolean operators, to maximize your search effectiveness.
When searching the library catalogue here are a some useful tips.
1. Start with a basic search, using the default search limit, All Collections and the default search field, Everything.
2. If you are searching for a specific author, then limit the search field to Author or Author Browse. Author Browse will return results in an alphabetical list; whereas, Author will return a list of resources that you can further narrow by using the Limit Search Results menu on the left.
3. Use Advance Search and enter search terms in more than one category to narrow your search. For example, if you wanted books by C.S. Lewis on Love you might enter Love as a Subject and Lewis as Author. You can also choose terms to exclude. Here is what that search would look like.
4. An Everything search will search terms anywhere in a record; whereas, a Browse will only search the first word of the category (i.e. Author or Subject) and list them alphabetically. You cannot place limits on the results returned from a Browse search.
5. Try to spell search terms correctly. Although The library catalogue has "fuzzy searching" and will often correct your spelling, a misspelled search term can still return inaccurate or incomplete results.
6. Limit your search results when you first search, by using the drop down (to the left of the search bar) to select Search Limits (by collection) or a Search Field (within the record). Once the results are returned, use the Limit Search Results categories on the left to limit by Collection, Publication Date, Format, Subject, or Author.
7. Use the Sort drop down in the upper right hand corner to organize your results by Publication Date, Author, or Title. Sorting by Relevance is the default.
8. Click on the Item title to view the detailed record. This includes more information such as subjects, edition, and notes.
9. Make sure the item's status is Checked In.
10. Write down the Call Number. This is the book's address and will help you locate it on the shelf. Use the signs at the end of each stack to find your way.
11. Click on the item's Subjects to find other resources with the same subject.
12. Look on the shelf where you find the item to locate other items that might be relevant. Books with the same topic are often given the same or similar addresses, so should be located near each other.
13. If you can't find an item or need help with your search, ask a librarian. We are happy to help.
When searching the A-Z Library Databases here are some useful tips.
1. Use drop down limiter menus on the A-Z Databases page to narrow databases down by Subject, Type, and Vendor.
2. When entering search terms, consider following database subject suggestions. These come up when you start to type in a search term.
3. Use Advanced Search options for more detailed searches. To understand the difference between using AND and OR check out the videos below and/or the tab titled Boolean, Truncation, Wildcard. Here is what an advanced search looks like in Ebsco.
4. Use search limiters such as Full Text and Peer Reviewed (Scholarly Journals). You can also limit by Publication Date with a drop down menu in Basic Search and buttons in the Advanced Search. Searching with these limiters ensures it only return results with full readable text, that are from academic sources, and that fit your date parameters. You can also filter search results with limiters such as Source Type.
5. Follow the subject trail. When you click on subjects within article records they lead you to other resources with that same subject. TIP: When you follow the subject you will probably have to click the Full Text and Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals limiters again.
6. If you are in an Ebsco database you can sign-in to your account (My Ebsco) and save articles for later. You can also choose from several options other options such as emailing the article to yourself and calling up the citation in your chosen style.
7. If you are having any trouble accessing databases or finding what you need, please ask a librarian. We are happy to help.
For more information and ideas on how to effectively search databases view the tutorials below.
Here are some helpful links on using Google for research
Although we recommend using library resources whenever possible, there are times that Google proves useful for research projects. It really depends on the type of information you are after and/or where you are at the research process.
Bethany College Library offers a useful comparison between Google and Library Databases -- their chart considers Types of Information, When to Use, Credibility Review Process, Cost & Accessibility, Usability, Constancy, and Citing. We encourage you to check out their page to get a better sense of the differences between the two.
The video below by NEIU Libraries also offers a comparison and answers the question: Should I be using Google or the Library?
If you do need to use Google, the following links provide more information on searching tips and strategies.
Boolean Operators
Boolean operators are a set of commands that you can use to search the library catalogue, databases, and even Google. The most common are AND, OR, and NOT.
1. Use AND to return results that contain all of your search terms. For example if you search teenagers AND chocolate it will only return results that have both teenagers and chocolate in them. AND narrows your search.
2. Use OR to return results that have any of your search terms in them. For example, if you search orange OR apple it will return results with only orange, only apple, as well as those with both. OR broadens your search.
3. Use NOT to return results that do not include a search term. For example, if you search libraries NOT public, it will only return results with the word library that do not include the word public. NOT narrows your search.
To be safe, always capitalize the Boolean operators AND, OR, and NOT, as some search tools require this.
Truncation
Use the truncation symbol (*) to return results with a variety of endings that share the same root word. For example, if you search child* it will return children, childhood, childlike etc.
Wildcard
Use Wildcard symbols (? or ! or *) to return results with a variety of spellings. For example, searching wom*n retrieves results with both women and woman. Wildcard symbols may vary depending on the database or search engine.
Bonus Tips:
1. Use parentheses to indicate that the search engine should pay attention to that search request first. Just like in a math equation. For example, if I search (orange OR apple) AND banana the search engine would first find everything with orange, apple and both. Then it would only return results from that batch that also have banana. So you would have results with orange and banana; apple and banana; and orange, apple, and banana.
2. Use quotation marks to keep a phrase together. For example, if you search "all for one" it would only return results with these words together in this order.
3. When using Advance Search in the library catalogue or databases, you can choose Boolean operators from the drop down menus.
For more information on using Boolean operators within the context of a search, see the video tutorials below.
Snowball Method
With this method the researcher uses references and bibliographies in found resources and articles to discover more relevant resources. Consult the bibliography in books, chapters, or articles and then work to track those down. Often in the databases bibliographies provide links to cited articles. Look at the bibliographies of those newly found items and discover even more resources. Hence the name snowball method. This method is helpful because the researcher can find many relevant resources quickly. The drawback is that the more you snowball, the older the resources get -- this is especially true of books. This method can also be called Bibliographic Mining, because you mine resources for more resources.
Pearl Growing Method
With this method the researcher uses key words or subjects found within a resource's record to find more items with that same subject or keyword. It is also what we call following the subject trail. Most databases and library catalogues will allow you to click on the subject within a record to find more items with that same subject and so forth. The benefit here is that items found could be the same date or newer than the original resource.