"In this course, students are introduced to the earliest textual tradition of Christianity through the literature of the Apostle Paul. Students will grow in their understanding of who Jesus is as well as their ability to interpret the bible by attending to its literary, historical, and theological character."
This guide provides resource ideas and direction for the History of Interpretation Exegesis Paper as well as the Greek Word Study.
Information on NT 221 taken from course syllabi created by Dr. Tyran Laws
Commentaries on Galatians--Philemon by 
James, 1-2 Peter, 1-3 John, Jude by Other commentaries from Ancient Christian Texts (ACT) include Commentaries on Romans and 1-2 Corinthians and Commentaries on Romans, 1-2 Corinthians, and Hebrews (eBook). Other commentaries from the Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture (ACCS) include 1-2 Corinthians, Galatians, Ephesians, Philippians, Colossians, 1-2 Thessalonians, 1-2 Timothy, Titus, Philemon, Romans and Hebrews. Titles from this series are also found in our Ebsco eBooks Collection.
Early Church Fathers, Nicene and Post Nicene 2nd Series by 
Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers - St. Augustine by 
Theological Dictionary of the New Testament by 
A Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature by These resources live in our reference collection, so they cannot be checked out. During the term NT 221 is running, they can be found behind the circulation desk for easy access.
Image: Sketchplanations
CC BY-NC 4.0 DEED
Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International
Commentary on Saint Paul's epistle to the Galatians by 
Commentary on Saint Paul's first letter to the Thessalonians and the letter to the Philippians by 
Commentary on the Epistle to the Romans by 
The Letter to the Galatians by 
The Letter to the Romans by While the ACCS, RCS, and ACT series can be great starting points, they only provide a snippet of the full original text! Unfortunately, not all passages will have a fully translated version, so you might be stuck with just the portion available in the commentary. Here are a couple of (hopefully) helpful tips to find the full text:
Biblical Interpretation in the Early Church by 
Essentials of New Testament Greek by 
Gender and Power in Medieval Exegesis by A Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature by 
Introducing Medieval Biblical Interpretation by 
Commentaries on 1 Corinthians 7, 1 Corinthians 15, lectures on 1 Timothy by 
A commentary on St. Paul's epistle to the Galatians by Calvin and Luther's commentaries are full sets, but Luther does not cover all of Paul's letters. Of Paul's letters Luther includes Lectures on Galatians, 1535, chapters 5-6 ; Lectures on Galatians, 1519, chapters 1-6; Lectures on Titus, Philemon, and Hebrews; Lectures on Galatians; and Lectures on Romans. There are also some individual commentaries outside of these sets. Search "Calvin Commentaries" or "Luther Commentaries."
Other commentaries from Reformation Commentary on Scripture (RCS) include Hebrews, James; Romans 1-8 and Romans 9-16. This series is also available in the Ebsco eBook collection.
You can also check the "Bibliography of Texts in English Translations" at the back of the ACCS and RCS series. You may be able to find those sources through Perlego, the library catalogue, or EBSCO eBooks (the yellow "eBooks" button on the library homepage).
