You can click the link to get directly to the database, or select the yellow "Journal Articles" button on the library homepage. Click "Choose Databases" to customize your search.
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. This database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
While we tend to think that there are vast amounts of free information available online, information is actually quite valuable and not always "free."
Business databases and reports can actually be quite expensive. Because the information in these databases and reports is important, it can become a commodity itself! While the links in this guide include information that will be available to you as a Prairie community member, there may be some links with limited free reports or information available.
As well, some information will not be available as it is proprietary (i.e., how a product is made, etc.) and making that information freely available may have implications for the business.
These factors will impact the information that you will be able to find. It can be helpful to think about potential implications and what information may or may not be available when starting your research.
Trade papers are articles found in Trade Journals, which are journals that contain news, trends, and discussions regarding advancements and topics of interest for an industry or field. Trade papers are aimed towards an audience that works in that industry.
Scholarly articles are papers with original research written by experts in a field. They are usually peer reviewed and will include a bibliography. The bibliography can be used to find more sources.
Websites such as company websites, industry and trade association websites, directories, government websites, and more can all provide relevant information.
However, as anyone can publish on the web, it is important to make sure you are assessing the website for credibility. It is also helpful to use other sources/types of sources in conjunction with the websites in order to find supporting evidence.
Popular magazines are periodicals that are not peer reviewed. As well, authors do not always have the same credentials as scholarly journal article authors. However, popular magazines in business can include unique insights, perspectives, and analysis regarding companies, industries, people, and trends.
Statistics from Statistics Canada or the US Census can provide helpful demographic information. While government or academically produced statistics can be trustworthy, there are many statistic websites that can also provide helpful information. Try to find the "About Us" section to learn more about their methods to help determine credibility.
Also note that there is a difference between statistical data and statistical analysis. While both can be helpful, statistical analysis would have been conducted by an individual or group, potentially adding room for bias as the individual seeks to provide meaning to the data.
Reports as they relate to business research are formal documents that present information, such as financial information or SWOT analysis, conducted in a systematic manner. Reports usually seek to answer a question or present an overview of a specific event or issue and are used to help make decisions. They are not usually peer reviewed and are put together by individuals working for a specific company or in a specific industry.
Newspapers can be great sources for financial, trade, and economy information. While some papers are more financial by nature, big name newspapers (like The New York Times) have large sections devoted to business topics.
Business, industry, or consumer research requires "grey" literature, or non-traditionally published material, such as reports, policy papers, newspaper articles, websites, government documents, statistics, etc.
While these sources should be used, their credibility or authority still needs to be determined. The purpose of your use of the information will impact the types of sources you are willing to accept and use.
The type of document and the processes that went into the creation of the information will also influence the credibility or authority. For example, while marketing research reports may be based on statistics and data, an individual has analyzed the material, adding a bit of subjectivity (Click et al., 2021).
Some questions to consider include:
Additionally, it will be important to use a variety of perspectives and sources to help mitigate bias and to support and verifiy claims (Click et al., 2021).
"A NAICS (pronounced NAKES) Code is a classification within the North American Industry Classification System" (NAICS Association, 2017). NAICS are codes that designate industries. The codes start by dividing general industries but can be further "drilled" down to be more specific.
NAICS codes can be helpful to use when searching for industry information in business library databases and using some of the Government links included in this guide.
To find a breakdown of the codes, use the link below:
